Information SuperJunkie

This site is about me and everything in between

Teaching Technology

On Tuesday, I am going to venture to Birmingham, Ala., to teach a group of professionals the finer aspects of Social Media.

This is not my first excursion into teaching, let alone teaching technology. But I find that teaching something as robust as Social Media can be, daunting.

However, one of the things I find most interesting about Social Media, and my subsequent ability to teach, is how much fun it truly is.

I could wax poetic about the finer points, the case studies and theories about what works and does not work in the world of Social Media.

And the irony of the situation is that I am teaching people face-to-face to use programs that allow them to connect where ever they located, taking away that face-to-face aspect.

To act as if Social Media has not changed how we exist in our society is myopic at best foolish/idiotic at worst. For instance, one of my most favorite people in the world (sarcasm) use to say, “I don’t understand why people like Facebook. I think it is stupid and useless.” Now, she is insanely in love with a guy she met through a Social Network. See, idiotic at worst.

Because here is the finer point that the haters of Social Media miss. When we watch the news, it is someone talking TO us. When we read a newspaper, it is someone talking TO us. And when we listen to the radio, someone is talking TO us.

Social Media makes us realize that at the end of each machine that connects us, there is a person at the other end. And they are talking WITH us.

The infinitive to preposition switch is extremely important, and I don’t think I need to go into the finer points of the English language to express how important that switch is.

That is lesson one. Tune in next week for how to post pictures of your crotch on your Twitter account.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

