Information SuperJunkie

This site is about me and everything in between

Let Me Tell You About This Guy I Know

See, it is a funny thing, when you realize that the one you look up to, is pretty much just you. You from a different time, a different place, a different idea entirely.

It is funny, how you read the words of your mentor, your idol, and see that you use the same language, the same flow, the same syntax. Fuck, the punctuation is the same. And the swearing.

It is funny how you see yourself in his place, and him in yours, and you wonder what he would do. And you know what you should do.

It is funny how you can hear him say, “Go for it, son.” You can hear him say, “You shouldn’t do that, son.”

It is funny how those word will always give you the courage to do the right thing.

“The right thing is rarely the popular thing,” he would say. And you will find yourself reminding this god that exact same notion.

It is funny how you can understand so little about a man, yet know so much.

It is funny how you can see the man he is and the man you want to be.

It is funny how you try to be better than him, and will always fall short.

It is funny how you can strive to be perfect.

It is funny how you know he that is not, and yet, if you are a fraction of that idol, you will be everything you wanted to be.

My father is what I want to be, but I want to better. Not that he isn’t great, he is a near perfect father. Flaws and all, he is the man who I strive to be.

He wants me to be better. He wants me be quick to listen and slow to talk. He wants me to have more guts, more brain and more brawn. He wants me to be better than him and his father and my grandfather’s father. He wants me to be better than anyone to bear the name that is my last name.

It is funny to realize, that your god, your idol, your role model looks up to you.

I missed posting this on his birthday, but Happy Birthday Dad.

And challenge accepted.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

