Information SuperJunkie

This site is about me and everything in between

28 Things for Being 28

This won’t be an actual list of 28 things, as I am finding lists dominate our lives right now. We make lists of things to do, then we read the top 10 funniest captions of photos in local newspapers. Then move on to the next list.

So, as cumbersome as simply writing out ideas can be, we are going to give it shot. I know I mention in about every post since last year how the proximity of my posts have become quite spaced out. So, here is that obligation fulfilled. It has been awhile since I posted.

Regardless, I just had my birthday, and I turned a whopping 28. An age where there are no real big achievements accomplished. Especially when you live in a city. If I lived back in Marion, the expectation would be to have some kids, a house and probably a few animals here and there.

But here, there are none, and I guess it is because people in their 50s are still trying to find out who they are in the city. So, judgement and expectations kind of go out the window.

And I enjoy this concept.

My favorite time of the year is the fall, it is no wonder as to why this favoritism is so strong, I was born in the fall.

But there is something about the leaves changing colors, the crispness in the air and the smell of fires, spices. We use the fall as a sort of sign of starts. School starts, winter starts, football starts, baseball playoffs start, hockey season, basketball, pumpkin spice lattes start, new friendship from school start, new opportunities. 

We often use spring as a sign of rejuvenation, which makes perfect sense. Winter here is brutal, and the first warm day of spring is a welcomed reprieve from months of darkness, snow and biting wind.

But fall is a time I always remember things. I remember where I was on certain days, or at least when these days feel like those days long gone. I remember where I wanted to be when I was 28. I remember the 18-year-old kid thinking about wanting the things I think and have now.

I am not exactly where I want to be, just yet. But I am pretty damn close to it. Like the crispness in the air, I can just feel it. And this is why I love fall. I feel as complete as I ever will during this time of the year. Of course, it is also a reminder that another year has gone by, and it is the perfect time to reflect on what I have done, and what is yet to come.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

