Information SuperJunkie

This site is about me and everything in between

Getting Back in Shape

Ten years ago (woof), I was a fit young man. I played football, wrestled and did track. My family would routinely play basketball, tennis and soccer. We even played hockey with roller blades (bad ass, I know).

We were active. College happened and I was still active playing intramural sports and working out (sometimes). Then after-college happened, and working out became a once-in-a-while thing. I ran sometimes but I lost a lot of whatever muscle I developed from 15-18.

Too be fair, I am not Hercules, and far from it. I am not some beast who stands at 6’3″ 230 lbs. I am 5’10” and use to be 170 lbs.

That slowly crept up to 180 recently and I decided to do something about it.

Before, I had excuses. I was lonely, I worked too much, I was moving around quite a bit.

Now, I really have no excuses. Work is steady. I am definitely not lonely anymore. And while I haven’t become “fat”, I don’t like where things are going, so I am doing something about it.

The best part about trying to get in shape after being not-very-active to actually-inactive, is my mind still thinks I am 18.

So, I run for 30 minutes, expecting to get more than a couple miles in. Knees hurt, cramps happen and I muscle through the 30 minutes to see 2.75 miles is the distance I ran.

Then I lifted weights. Shoulder hurts. Elbow acts up. My shit feels broke, man.

But then the next time I went, it was difficult. And about half way through my run it got easier.

So, I recommend this to anyone listening, if you think now is the time to get in shape, now is the time. Waiting only makes it harder to actually do it because pain in joints and muscles is not fun. Unless you are in to that kind of thing.

Still, get a mile in this weekend. After all, there will be a lot of beer consumed.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

