Information SuperJunkie

This site is about me and everything in between

The Power of an Offline Connection

Riot Fest is coming up and I am pretty jacked about it. The line up is insane, overbearing and total amazing. I remember going to Riot Fest when it was one night, at the Congress and biggest band that played was the Lawrence Arms (maybe it was someone else…can’t really remember it…because…well…you know, beer.)

And this spectacle has continued to grow and grow to becoming one of Chicago largest’s (and often called “best”) music festivals. In case you didn’t know, Chicago has a shit load of festivals during the summer, and some massive ones like Lollapalooza. 

But the thing that is most exciting thing about Riot Fest is my older brother is coming in to town to go to the festival with me. 

Yes, I have known my brother all my life, which is a ridiculous sentence to write. He was around before me, and we are friends outside of our brotherly obligations toward one another. 

And one of the things you learn about someone as you get to know them over the years is their ability to use technology. 

Josh hasn’t always had the highest of proficiencies when it comes to adoption technology or even just using it. 

But prior to Riot Fest this year, I have received almost daily posts on my Facebook page of the bands playing. The bands we have seen and yet to see. The ones we are excited about and the ones we laugh about. 

The fact he is posting frequently on Facebook is significant. He isn’t a hermit and posts regularly, but “frequently” would not be the word to describe his Facebook habits. These posts, however, are different. 

He posts, and I like. The actions seem simple, but the connection means so much more. There are entire conversations had that never appear on a timeline. There are looks, laughs and jokes made that never show up in a comment box. There are beers had that aren’t tagged with what type they are or where they were consumed. We eat too much food to even mention.

He posts, and I like. And when you know someone as long as I have known my brother, all you need is a simple action to signify the deeper connection, one that can’t appear anywhere except in the minds and hearts of the ends of that connection. 

So, this year, I will go to Riot Fest with my best friend, my brother. And we will share images, tags and posts about all the bands we see, food we eat and drinks we have. 

But the moments in between will be for us. And that is why I am excited about Riot Fest this year. 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

